The Northwestern Connecticut Transit District was formed in 1987 and provides service to a seventeen (17) town region. The district operates a Deviated Flexible Route service in Torrington, Winsted and Litchfield and a Dial-A-Ride service in all seventeen (17) towns as shown below.

Barkhamsted Litchfield
Canaan / North Canaan Morris
Colebrook New Hartford
Cornwall Norfolk
Falls Village Salisbury
Goshen Sharon
Harwinton Torrington
Kent Warren

Dial-A-Ride was formed according to Connecticut Statutes regarding transit districts and has assumed operating responsibility for public transportation projects formerly sponsored by Torrington and Winchester; including Northwestern Connecticut Rural Transit.

For our hours, contact information and driving instructions to our facilities please click HERE.

All buses are wheelchair accessible.

Board of Directors:

BJ Christinat - N. Canaan
Tom Stanton - Torrington 1
Carrie Case - Winchester
Dan Farley- Torrington 2
Vacant - Morris
Vacant - Sharon
Ruth Epstein - Kent
Raymond Pech - Barkhamsted
Vacant - Litchfield
Sharlene Copeland - Litchfield (Alternate)
George Zeidenstein - Goshen
Chris Johnstone - Colebrook


(860) 489-2535

Toll Free:
(866) 906-7433


On the following 2017 year dates the Northwest CT Transit District office will be closed and Dial-A-Ride will not operate:
January 2
New's Year's Day
January 16
Martin Luther King Day
February 12
Lincoln's Birthday
February 20
President's Day
April 14
Good Friday
May 29
Memorial Day
July 4
Independence Day
September 4
Labor Day
October 9
Columbus Day
November 10
Veterans Day
November 23
& 24
Thanksgiving W/E
December 25

In case of storms, etc. do one of the following for cancellation notices:
  • watch Local Cable 5
  • watch Channel 3 WFSB
  • listen to 97.3 FM WZBG

Note: If school is closed, then Dial-A-Ride service will not operate.